Getting the Family On Board

I’m a cold turkey kind of girl, and I’m all or nothing. For me to succeed at something, I need laser focus – even when it comes to my nutrition and fitness. To some it may be obsessive, but in my world, it works.

For instance, a few weeks ago we made cookies for my husband to bring to work, he forgot the cookies, so I threw them away – drama ensued (I’ll spare you the details).  I knew if the cookies remained in my house, I would eat every last one of them, and probably top it with a glass of milk. Like I said, I’m all in, sold out, or not interested at all.  If I’m going to indulge, I indulge all the way. Some people, like my husband, tend to have a bit more self control. He can successfully just eat one cookie, step away from the kitchen, be satisfied and move on – lucky for him.

I came up with the idea for this post while grocery shopping with my husband today. We are two different animals, polar opposites, and at total odds when it comes to grocery shopping. When I grocery shop, I generally stick to my list, rarely impulse buy (we’re on a budget!) and don’t buy junky snack foods; however, when shopping with my main man, Oreos and Captain Crunch cereal tend to make their way into the shopping cart.

Which leads me to my point, getting your family on board to your new eating habits can be tough. I’ve noticed that getting spouses or significant others on board can be the most difficult as these people probably have the most power to derail your new lifestyle changes, and having a significant other that isn’t totally on board can present some challenges.

If you’re struggling between trying to eat healthier, but finding those Oreos in the shopping cart, here are a few things that worked for me  to make it a little easier in getting  the family on board with healthy eating:

– I started small. First I started by buying fresh, local produce, then a few weeks later I stopped buying processed snack food, then a few weeks after that I stopped buying processed grains. Like I said, I’m cold turkey, but my husband functions better on a gradual plan.

– I tried to get creative with meals. Instead of making spaghetti and meatballs, I would make spaghetti squash and meatballs. Instead of having fried chicken, mashed potatoes and bread for dinner, we transitioned to grilled chicken, cauliflower mash and salad. I never wanted my family to feel as though I was depriving or starving them, and I still wanted to serve those comfort food favorites, but in a healthier way. Pinterest and Allrecipes.com are great inspirations for healthy versions of your favorite meals. Check out “paleo pizza” – the kids will love it!

– I started keeping fresh produce on the counter. If an apple, peach or banana is in sight, we’ll grab that as a snack before anything else.

– I talked about my “why” a lot.  My “why” is my reason for wanting to live healthier. For instance, I don’t want diabetes. I don’t want heart disease. I don’t want to be on cholesterol or blood pressure medications. I want to see my child(ren) grow up. I want to be able to play with my child(ren)… Your “why” can be anything you want it to be. Let you family know that this isn’t a fad diet, but you are making a lifestyle change, and you want their support.

The best thing to remember is, don’t nag. If you are trying to make a healthy lifestyle change, focus on you. Your family and friends will see it, and although it may take some time, eventually they will come around. Lead by example!

 

 

One thought on “Getting the Family On Board

  1. Ha, Brett told me that he was going to starve tonight when he realized were only having soup and salad. It was actually very filling. I usually grocery shop without him since he places junk in the basket as well. Great post!

Leave a Reply

