Dehydrated fruit – a healthier snack alternative for kids on the go!

20140520-074658-28018261.jpg

Finding healthy food snacks for kids is no easy task. Most are loaded in sugar, grains and preservatives, and have little or no nutritional value.

While trying to decide what to feed my 9 month old who is constantly on the go, I decided to try my hand at dehydrating fruit.

Oh, did I mention this process was a little time consuming, but mostly hands off. You may want to plan this project for a rainy day, and cook up a lot. All together, it took about 6 hours and 10 minutes.

First off, I don’t have a dehydrator. I have enough kitchen gadgets to host my own cooking show, but I’m shy one dehydrator (hmmm, maybe a good birthday present idea!). I decided to dehydrate in the oven. If you’re going to use your oven, set the temperature to the lowest possible setting, but under 200 degrees. For my oven it was 170 degrees.

Next, cut your fruit. I used bananas and pineapple. I sliced the bananas about 1/8 inch thickness, and I cubed the pineapple.

Place your fruit on a rack, and place the rack on a baking sheet. I also used a layer of parchment. I don’t like scrubbing baking sheets, so I use parchment always; however, it’s not a necessity.

When your oven is ready, begin the dehydration process. It’s basically equivalent to watching paint dry. Every hour, check your progress, and eventually, after 6 hours your fruit will be dehydrated.

Allow it to cool for 20 minutes. Then store in an air tight container.

Aubrey loves it, and we’re in the process of transitioning to dehydrated fruit instead of store bought snacks.

If you have any other ideas for homemade baby snacks that travel well, please message me!

Leave a Reply

